Image

sos

 

Pink flyod: The Wall is a film inspired and was derived from the 11th studio album of the popular English rock band ‘Pink Floyd’ entitled as ‘The Wall’.

As a person who haven’t heard in any of the 70’s rock music, especially Pink Floyd’s music, I could tell that it’s kind of weird. Yes, I love music especially rock, punk rock and heavy metal but it seems really weird to me. Specifically, on how their album was portrayed in the movie rendition. There are too much symbolism incorporated all together, peculiar illustrations and scenes.

The movie is peculiar but it clearly depicts the life of a certain person (more likely, the song writer) and his struggles as a boy who lost his father in war, his mother upbringing, his entire environment growing up as a depressed teen and so on… that leads to isolation to society and even in himself and I think that’s why it is called ‘The wall’.

For me, The Wall is a metaphorical symbol. It symbolizes isolation and protection of himself to the world so he won’t be hurt and at the same time, it isolate him and protects him from himself. In its contrast, it also symbolizes that he’s trapped in his own little world by himself.

But above all, It is strongly used in the music and its film edition to give some hints on  its listeners and viewers that the person that was pertain in that art is calling for some help, secretly. A hidden distress call by doing it in the form of art And I think that it’s genius! Genius because only handful of people could truly ever appreciate and understand all of it.

Well, as an artist in the making I find it interesting to put my feelings, emotions and experiences to my future artworks and can’t wait to share with people who will appreciate it. Just like how the wall was created. Even if it cost me, my entire life.

Leave a comment